Between Legend and reality

Once known as Villa Patrizi, it is a hamlet located on a flat terrain between the left bank of the Vomano river and the first hills of Montepagano. This village developed around the country villa of the Patrizi barons.  Its history is linked to the miraculous healing of a blind peasant, Agostino Caralla, who implores Saint Lucia to free him from his blindness. To celebrate this event, the private chapel of the Patrizi barons became the Church of Saint Lucia and the name then extended to the district and subsequently to the urban agglomeration that formed along the road that connects the church to the Vomano consortium, the current state road. From 1929 onwards, the chapel was enlarged and underwent many renovations until the construction of the current building in 1968.

The New Church  of Saint Lucia is an example of how modernity and tradition can coexist in harmony. It is a perfect testimony to the fusion of modernity and tradition, thanks to a contemporary aesthetic and a unique architecture characterized by a pyramid-like appearance, with a roof that ends with a high and slender spire, symbolizing the spiritual ascent of the faithful towards heaven.

The interior of the church is dominated by a single spacious and welcoming hall, made even brighter by the mosaics of the artist Bruno Zenobio in 1995.